National Coach Museum
It brings together a unique collection in the world of gala and tour vehicles from the 16th to 19th centuries.
The National Coach Museum brings together the world's best collection of ceremonial and touring vehicles from the 16th to the 19th century. Originally from Casa Real Portuguesa, it also includes Church vehicles and private collections. This excellent collection allows visitors to understand the technical and artistic evolution of animal-drawn transport used by European courts before the advent of the automobile. 70 vehicles are on display in the new building, the oldest from the 16th century, while the most recent is a 19th century post office. In addition to a collection of horse-drawn vehicles, the Museum also has a set of accessories used in ceremonial parades, equestrian games, cavalry harnesses and portraits of the Portuguese Royal Family.
The New Coach Museum opened its doors in Belém as a new cultural installation and a new public space.
It was the result of two main concerns: increasing the exhibition area and the technical support infrastructure and improving the experience of visitors at the most visited museum in the country. It comprises a main pavilion with a suspended nave that is connected to an annex by an air ticket. The spatial layout of these volumes forms a kind of portico pointing to an internal square of free access. Also visible are the picturesque old houses on Rua da Junqueira that evoke the days gone by and the walks along the river. The New Museum includes permanent and temporary exhibition galleries, reserve areas and a bus conservation and restoration workshop.New spaces were designed for a library, an archive and an auditorium, which will open the museum for a wide range of cultural activities.
The Royal Riding Arena
The Royal Coach Museum was opened on May 23, 1905 by Queen D. Amélia de Orléns and Bragança, a French princess who married the future king of Portugal, D. Carlos I. The place chosen to house the first bus museum of the world was the hall of the former Royal Riding Arena, where the museum was built until May 23, 2015. Despite the success, the lack of space in the museum was a problem from the beginning, which led the queen to order a new project in 1906 to expand the museum. in order to display the Casa Real vehicles scattered around the stables of different palaces. After the proclamation of the Republic, on October 5, 1910, the museum's collection received a set of buses and berlin from an extinct Casa Real and also from the Church.In memory of the excellent protection and dissemination work carried out by the old Riding Arena.
Source: DGPC (www.patrimoniocultural.pt)